Jump to content

Welcome to The Rising
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Computer Loading [Need Advices]


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1
Elfy

Elfy

    Thranduil


  • Posts: 393
  • Joined: 12-February 16
  • Reputation: 39
  • Country:

I need some advice on my computer, I use a laptop and everytime i start it up its slow for like a minute or so but i would like to know how to make my computer run a bit faster, it works perfectly after like 5 minutes but i mean i want everything to run smoothly, so if anyone has any ideas or things they did to make there computers run a bit faster please let me know!

 

Thanks, Elfy


| RSN: 0f | The Rising: Guest | CMB: 126 |


oXU5RNo.gif

 


 


 


#2
🎩Desmonius Troyerus

Desmonius Troyerus

    Philosopher


  • Posts: 16,646
  • Joined: 08-September 08
  • Reputation: 2180
  • Country:

Have you optimised start up?

 

If not, depending on your machine, go to Task Manager -> Startup, or Start/command --> Type msconfig and hit enter. There might a load of stuff in the background which is set to load when booting up which you are not aware of and/or don't even need. Disable them.

 

 

If you see an unfamilliar program, be sure to Google before changing its startup status.


  • Kyle` and Elfy like this

Ex-Gladz Leader
Ex-TMRD Council
>>Founder/Creator of TR, July 30th, 2007<<


Led Gladz to #1 overall, led TR to #1 GMT. /legacy ##

Official wars / RAW wars participated in on RS2 (2004-2012):
Gladz vs ZF II, Gladz vs TD, Gladz vs Anarchy, Gladz vs BK, Gladz vs DS, Gladz vs VR, Gladz vs DF, TMRD vs DF, TMRD vs BK, TR vs RDC, TR vs BK.

 

[12:33] (Vijay) Im off to have some grotesquely over-priced coffee

[15:42] (Steamy) i'm best pmod in the world

[03:00] (Darky) Des is this good enough??? *BOOM BOOM PSCH, BOOM...BOOM BOOM PSCH, TCH plshh boooomph.....TS BOOM TSSSS, BOOOMGHHHHHHH*

[11:13] (Vijay) a analogy would be if someone lands a 5 foot fish while fishing and the fish says "no, screw you dude" and jumps into a another fishermans basket
[11:13] (Vijay) it was our catch :<

[08:16] (Sooz) I'm actually selling pics of Dan's mullet on e-bay as we speak.
[08:17] (Sikkem) I'm actually buying pics of Dan's mullet on e-bay as we speak.

xOu8AUV.pngFEq7SE0.pngT1fXQYC.jpg

 

 

 


#3
Kyle`

Kyle`

    Pro Poster


  • Posts: 3,546
  • Joined: 25-April 09
  • Reputation: 80
  • Country:

Have you optimised start up?

 

If not, depending on your machine, go to Task Manager -> Startup, or Start/command --> Type msconfig and hit enter. There might a load of stuff in the background which is set to load when booting up which you are not aware of and/or don't even need. Disable them.

 

If you see an unfamilliar program, be sure to Google before changing its startup status.

This. Or buy a SSD, but that's a little overkill. 


Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#4
Lovelost

Lovelost

    Serious Poster


  • Posts: 1,983
  • Joined: 22-December 15
  • Reputation: 538
  • Country:

 

Have you optmised start up?

 

If not, depending on your machine, go to Task Manager -> Startup, or Start/command --> Type msconfig and hit enter. There might a load of stuff in the background which is set to load when booting up which you are not aware of and/or don't even need. Disable them.

 

If you see an unfamilliar program, be sure to Google before changing its startup status.

This. Or buy a SSD, but that's a little overkill. 

 



#5
Elfy

Elfy

    Thranduil


  • Posts: 393
  • Joined: 12-February 16
  • Reputation: 39
  • Country:

Have you optimised start up?

 

If not, depending on your machine, go to Task Manager -> Startup, or Start/command --> Type msconfig and hit enter. There might a load of stuff in the background which is set to load when booting up which you are not aware of and/or don't even need. Disable them.

 

 

If you see an unfamilliar program, be sure to Google before changing its startup status.

 

I have a Lenovo, its very confusing kind of laptop.. It's even touch screen lol, i have many troubles navigating around this laptop but i see if that works.


| RSN: 0f | The Rising: Guest | CMB: 126 |


oXU5RNo.gif

 


 


 


#6
Gereed123

Gereed123

    Pro Poster


  • Posts: 6,925
  • Joined: 04-September 09
  • Reputation: 225
  • Country:

Remove all the start up programs you don't need like destroyer said. Delete everything you don't need , including programs but if your laptop is a few years old , it's gonna take some time to start up anyways. My 5 year old laptop took like 10-15 mins to run smooth :P (I have a new one now)


Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image


#7
Kat

Kat

    Legendary


  • Posts: 5,116
  • Joined: 16-September 08
  • Reputation: 45
  • Country:

buy new pc becouse this one is porbably old right?



#8
Gold Trustee

Gold Trustee

    Serious Poster


  • Posts: 2,205
  • Joined: 11-December 15
  • Reputation: 258
  • Country:

Have you optimised start up?

 

If not, depending on your machine, go to Task Manager -> Startup, or Start/command --> Type msconfig and hit enter. There might a load of stuff in the background which is set to load when booting up which you are not aware of and/or don't even need. Disable them.

 

 

If you see an unfamilliar program, be sure to Google before changing its startup status.


Posted Image

<17:40:55> "Wargasm": i fucking love gold trustee dudes a legend

 

 

2015-2016 - Guest -> Intro -> Future Applicant -> Member -> February MOTM -> Templar -> Member -> Inactive -> Guest -> Clan Friend

 

2017 - Clan Friend -> Intro -> Future Applicant -> Member

Spoiler

#9
%Joey

Joey

    Legendary Poster


  • Posts: 16,474
  • Joined: 23-February 09
  • Reputation: -379
  • Country:

IDK not tech saavy, but looks like people have some good ideas.


EpmxqY0.png

dIuRhUa.gif

gm9bdVV.gif


#10
Elfy

Elfy

    Thranduil


  • Posts: 393
  • Joined: 12-February 16
  • Reputation: 39
  • Country:

buy new pc becouse this one is porbably old right?

 

It's not that old, I believe i got it around 2013-14, Lol.


| RSN: 0f | The Rising: Guest | CMB: 126 |


oXU5RNo.gif

 


 


 


#11
R_Xept0r

R_Xept0r

    Serious Poster


  • Posts: 1,487
  • Joined: 28-December 11
  • Reputation: 240
  • Country:

Get an SSD, trust me on this one


  • Kyle` likes this

Posted Image

 

Old crap nobody cares about:

 

Spoiler

#12
Elfy

Elfy

    Thranduil


  • Posts: 393
  • Joined: 12-February 16
  • Reputation: 39
  • Country:

Get an SSD, trust me on this one

 

Where to buy one? and how much are they? thanks.


| RSN: 0f | The Rising: Guest | CMB: 126 |


oXU5RNo.gif

 


 


 


#13
Stl Arrow

Stl Arrow

    Papi is back


  • Posts: 2,081
  • Joined: 20-September 15
  • Reputation: 162
  • Country:

I'm a dumbass and cant help lol sry


Ex Phalanx Warlord Ex Valhalla Warlord | Ex Collision MentorEx Violent Resolution !Captain

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#14
>Andrew<

>Andrew<

    Serious Poster


  • Posts: 1,308
  • Joined: 09-June 15
  • Reputation: 31
  • Country:

download ccleaner , and clean up any data that just making your comp slower


Posted Image

 

Posted Image


#15
Kyle`

Kyle`

    Pro Poster


  • Posts: 3,546
  • Joined: 25-April 09
  • Reputation: 80
  • Country:

 

Get an SSD, trust me on this one

 

Where to buy one? and how much are they? thanks.

 

Amazon

 

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-2-5-Inch-Internal-MZ-75E250B-AM/dp/B00OAJ412U/ref=sr_1_1?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1455578144&sr=1-1&keywords=ssd

 

You can probably find a cheaper one if you search harder.


Edited by Kyle`, 15 February 2016 - 11:16 PM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#16
KFツ

KFツ

    ★★★★★


  • Posts: 721
  • Joined: 11-February 16
  • Reputation: 84
  • Country:

Get an Asus  :kappa:



(19:38:48) <@Monkey> stick it in me bb
 

(06:17:12) <%Oh_Its_Lips> KF is tr's newest role model omg

(06:17:13) <%Oh_Its_Lips> jizz

 

Posted Image

 
 

Posted Image

Posted Image

 

Posted Image

Posted Image

 

Spoiler

#17
Elfy

Elfy

    Thranduil


  • Posts: 393
  • Joined: 12-February 16
  • Reputation: 39
  • Country:

 

 

Get an SSD, trust me on this one

 

Where to buy one? and how much are they? thanks.

 

Amazon

 

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-2-5-Inch-Internal-MZ-75E250B-AM/dp/B00OAJ412U/ref=sr_1_1?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1455578144&sr=1-1&keywords=ssd

 

You can probably find a cheaper one if you search harder.

 

 

Which one should i get for Lenovo? or is it all the same.


| RSN: 0f | The Rising: Guest | CMB: 126 |


oXU5RNo.gif

 


 


 


#18
R_Xept0r

R_Xept0r

    Serious Poster


  • Posts: 1,487
  • Joined: 28-December 11
  • Reputation: 240
  • Country:
I also have the Samsung. It's cheap and it's pretty good. (It's 90 Bucks.. Go for it)

You could search a bit for more info.

BtW if you swap disks, you'll need to transfer stuf, or you'll lose everything.. Including the Windows installer in your hdd.

Edited by R_Xept0r, 16 February 2016 - 05:39 AM.

Posted Image

 

Old crap nobody cares about:

 

Spoiler

#19
Kyle`

Kyle`

    Pro Poster


  • Posts: 3,546
  • Joined: 25-April 09
  • Reputation: 80
  • Country:

I also have the Samsung. It's cheap and it's pretty good. (It's 90 Bucks.. Go for it)

You could search a bit for more info.

BtW if you swap disks, you'll need to transfer stuf, or you'll lose everything.. Including the Windows installer in your hdd.

Samsung has some software that makes cloning a hard drive super easy.  Although if you have a laptop that might be a bit harder and you'll need a sata to usb converter.


Edited by Kyle`, 16 February 2016 - 12:43 PM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users